UKARIA honours our First Nations by fostering a shared sense of respect for this land, and we acknowledge and pay our respects to the Peramangk, traditional custodians of the land on which the Cultural Centre stands.



Sunday 5 June 2022  |  2:30PM


Vienna was the centre of the cultural world at the dawn of the nineteenth century. Music was performed everywhere – in homes both grand and modest, in the taverns, even in the streets – and one of the city's stars was Joseph Leopold Eybler, a friend and distant cousin of Haydn's, who in his youth had been dubbed the greatest musical genius in Vienna apart from Mozart. His String Quintet is a sparkling, delightful example of late Classical style, and deserves to be better known. 

Schubert wrote his Octet in 1824 at the suggestion of a colleague who wanted another piece like Beethoven's Septet, first performed in Vienna in 1800 and still very much a favourite of the city's music community. Schubert added a second violin to Beethoven's instrumentation, and kept a similar structure to his work, but the character of the music is all his own. This most ambitious chamber work, and arguably his finest, features those immediately Schubertian qualities of effortless, gorgeous melodies coupled with an almost desperate sense of heartache and longing.

Rediscover this iconic masterpiece (alongside the revelatory Eybler) in a definitive performance on period instruments by the Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra – a world-class ensemble of leading national and international exponents of historically informed performance, founded under the artistic direction of the late Richard Gill AO.

Jenny Sherry
| Violin
Peter Clark
| Violin
Simon Oswell
| Viola
Daniel Yeadon
| Cello
Rob Nairn
| Double Bass
Nicole van Bruggen
| Clarinet
Niels Coppalle
| Bassoon
Anneke Scott
| Horn

Duration | Approximately two hours, including a twenty-minute interval.
Note | Complimentary afternoon tea will be served during the interval.
Dining Options | Hearty soup with hot crusty bread can be pre-booked to enjoy before the concert ($15).


Joseph Leopold Eybler (1765–1846)
String Quintet in D, HV 186

I. Adagio – Allegro di Molto
II. Minuetto – Trio I – Trio II – Trio III
III. Andante
IV. Minuetto, Allegretto – Trio I – Trio II
V. Adagio
VI. Finale. Allegro vivace


Franz Schubert (1797–1828)
Octet in F, D. 803

I. Adagio – Allegro – Più allegro
II. Adagio
III. Allegro vivace – Trio – Allegro vivace
IV. Andante – variations. Un poco più mosso – Più lento
V. Menuetto. Allegretto – Trio – Menuetto – Coda
VI. Andante molto – Allegro – Andante molto – Allegro molto

Photo Credit

Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra: Robert Catto

Full Price
Add to Booking
*Concession price includes pensioners, health care cardholders and seniors' health care cardholders
UKARIA© 2022 UKARIA | Site Info