What's OnFebruary–July 2024Light MealsBus ServiceGift Vouchers
Brooklyn Rider | Sat 24 Feb
February–July 2024
Gift Vouchers
From Ulrike Klein AO
The A Cappella Academy
Our Steinway D-274
BuildingArtworkGardenVenue HireYour Visit
Listening / Radiating
Heritage Garden
How to Give
Contemporary Series Update: Launch postponed to Monday 26 February - More Info

Australian String Quartet


Thu 4 Jul 2024
Duration (approx)
2 hours, including interval
20 minutes

To book this concert over the phone, please call the Australian String Quartet directly on 1800 040 444


Pushing the boundaries of the genre, Beethoven and Korngold take the string quartet to new frontiers with these ground-breaking works.

When premiered in 1825, Beethoven's Op. 127 quartet stunned listeners with its innovation of expression and form. This work heralded a dramatic shift in Beethoven's trajectory, having already taken the string quartet to unprecedented heights. The first of his late quartets, here we glimpse a far more personal, philosophical, and inward-looking approach to musical rhetoric.

Korngold's success as a Hollywood film composer cemented his place in history. As a serious composer of post-Romantic music, he produced some extraordinary works that have long been overlooked. His second string quartet is no exception – its highly romantic harmonies are sprinkled with surprises that imbue it with a fresh and highly original sound.

Australian composer Harry Sdraulig is making waves across the country with a string of compelling new works. We are thrilled to be giving the premiere performances of his second string quartet, a fitting companion for the dynamic powerhouses of this program. 


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
String Quartet in E flat, Op. 127

I. Maestoso
II. Adagio, ma non troppo e molto cantabile – Andante con moto – Adagio molto espressivo – Tempo I
III. Scherzando vivace
IV. Allegro

Harry Sdraulig (b. 1992)
String Quartet No. 2 (National Premiere performances) *

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897–1957)
String Quartet No. 2 in E flat, Op. 26

I. Allegro
II. Intermezzo. Allegretto con moto – Molto piu mosso
III. Larghetto. Lento – Con molto sentimento
IV. Waltz. Tempo di Valse

* Commissioned by John Griffiths for his wife Beth

Event Tickets

4 Jul 2024
Book Direct
Book Now