UKARIA honours our First Nations by fostering a shared sense of respect for this land, and we acknowledge and pay our respects to the Peramangk, traditional custodians of the land on which the Cultural Centre stands.



Sunday 21 August 2022  |  2:30PM


Spanish pianist Javier Perianes has garnered international renown as an artist of exquisite finesse and intelligence. Career highlights include appearances with the Vienna, New York and Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestras, the Chicago and Boston Symphony Orchestras, Orchestre de Paris, the Royal Concertgebouw and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra under conductors such as Daniel Barenboim, Charles Dutoit, Gustavo Dudamel, Simone Young and Vladimir Jurowski.

Signed exclusively to harmonia mundi, Javier's acclaimed recordings of Manuel de Falla, Mompou, Mendelssohn, Grieg, Debussy and Chopin have set new benchmarks. Performing in Australia with the Sydney and Tasmanian Symphony Orchestras, Javier also makes his debut at UKARIA. 

Javier frames this recital around the most profound vicissitudes of human existence, love and death, exploring their inevitability and co-dependence, but also their capacity to transcend and console. United through their testaments to tragedy and transience, Beethoven, Chopin, Liszt, Granados and Wagner are revealed here as the keenest of musical philosophers: their suffering ennobles our own, and says, more powerfully than words could ever express, 'I too have experienced this: you are not alone.'


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
Sonata in A flat, Op. 26

I. Andante con variazioni
II. Scherzo, allegro molto
III. Maestoso andante, marcia funebre sulla morte d'un eroe
IV. Allegro

Fryderyk Chopin (1810–1849)
Sonata in B flat minor, Op. 35

I. Grave – Doppio movimento
II. Scherzo
III. Marche funèbre
IV. Finale: Presto


Enrique Granados (1867–1916)
Goyescas, Op. 11

I. Los requiebros (The Compliments)
IV. Qeujas, a La Maja y el ruiseñor (The Maiden and the Nightingale)
V. El Amor y la muerte (Balada) [Ballad of Love and Death]

Franz Liszt (1811–1886)
Harmonies poétiques et religieuses, S. 173

VII. Funérailles

Richard Wagner (1813–1883) / Franz Liszt (1811–1886)
Isolde's Liebestod
, S. 447 (Love-Death) [transcribed by Franz Liszt]

Duration | Approximately two hours, including a twenty-minute interval.
Note | Complimentary afternoon tea will be served during the interval.
Dining Options | Chunky vegetable soup with hot crusty bread can be pre-booked to enjoy before the concert ($15 per person). 

Photo Credit:

Javier Perianes: Igor Studio

Full Price
Add to Booking
*Concession price includes pensioners, health care cardholders and seniors' health care cardholders
UKARIA© 2022 UKARIA | Site Info