What's OnAugust–November 2024James Morrison WeekendUKARIA 24Light MealsBus ServiceGift Vouchers
August–November 2024
Collaboration – Curated by James Morrison
UKARIA 24 – Curated by Olli Mustonen
From Ulrike Klein AO
The A Cappella Academy
Our Steinway D-274
BuildingArtworkGardenVenue HireYour VisitAccessibility
Listening / Radiating
Heritage Garden
DonateLeave a BequestDonorsSponsors
How to Give

Konstantin Shamray

Sun 22 Sep 2024
Duration (approx)
2 hours, including interval
25 minutes

Adult $70 | Concession $65 | Student $35

Complimentary afternoon tea will be served during the interval.

Pre-concert dining option | Hearty soup with hot crusty bread ($16 per serve)


Alexander Scriabin, the visionary Russian composer and pianist, heard sounds in colour. In the spirit of Scriabin then, this recital program paints in shades of blue: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s ‘deep violet’ C sharp minor Sonata blurs into Scriabin’s more enigmatic ‘lilac’ Sonata in G sharp minor, before metamorphosing into Nikolai Medtner’s ‘sky blue’ Sonata in E minor. Beyond its colourings, the concert offers a unique exploration of a Russian pianistic tradition, via the distinctive contributions of three composers who were also pianists. Performed chronologically, these three lesser-known sonatas offer rare and moving glimpses into the singular voices that Tchaikovsky, Scriabin and Medtner imagined for the piano – as well as the ways in which their works speak to and engage with one another. And who better to sift through these intricate shades of blue than the poetic, commanding Russian-Australian pianist Konstantin Shamray: formidable concerto soloist, renowned recitalist and chamber music partner, recent Adelaide resident and frequent, well-loved UKARIA artist.


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840–1893)
Sonata in C sharp minor, Op. posth. 80 (26')

I. Allegro con fuoco
II. Andante
III. Scherzo: Allegro vivo
IV. Allegro vivo

Alexander Scriabin (1872–1915)
Sonata No. 2 in G sharp minor, Op. 19 (10')

I. Andante
II. Presto

Nikolai Karlovich Medtner (1880–1951)
Sonata in E minor, Op. 25 No. 2 Night Wind (30')

I. Introduzione: Andante – Allegro
II. Allegro molto sfrenatamente, presto

Event Tickets

22 Sep 2024
Seats Available
Book Now

Light Meals

22 Sep 2024
Hearty Soup with Hot Crusty Bread
Book Now

Bus Transfers

22 Sep 2024
Seats Available
Book Now