Sunday 12 July 2020  |  2:30PM


‘The music of Erich Wolfgang Korngold has always put a smile on my face. His writing is imbued with old-world Hollywood charm and this enchanting set of four pieces from Much Ado About Nothing is a delightful gem from one of the twentieth-century’s pioneer film composers.’

– Dale Barltrop

Intimately familiar with UKARIA audiences as the First Violinist of the Australian String Quartet, Dale Barltrop also serves as the co-concertmaster of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.

Since Daniel de Borah’s prize-winning performances at the 2004 Sydney International Piano Competition, he’s given recitals on four continents, at venues including London’s Wigmore Hall and Southbank Centre, the Sydney Opera House and the Melbourne Recital Centre.

Dale Barltrop | Violin
Daniel de Borah | Piano


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
Sonata for Violin and Piano in F, K. 377

I. Allegro
II. Theme with six variations. Andante
III. Tempo di Menuetto

Sergei Prokofiev (1891–1953)
Sonata No.2 for Violin and Piano in D, Op. 94a

I. Moderato
II. Presto
III. Andante
IV. Allegro con brio – Poco meno mosso – Tempo I – Poco meno mosso – Allegro con brio


Leoš Janáček (1854–1928)
Sonata for Violin and Piano

I. Con moto
II. Ballada
III. Allegretto
IV. Adagio

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897–1957)
Much Ado About Nothing Suite for Violin and Piano, Op. 11

I. Maiden in the Bridal Chamber
II. March of the Watch (Dogberry and Verges)
III. Garden Scene
IV. Hornpipe

Photo Credits:
Dale Barltrop: Jacqui Way
Daniel de Borah: Keith Saunders

Tickets for this event are SOLD OUT

UKARIA© 2020 UKARIA | Privacy Statement | Site Info