UKARIA honours our First Nations by fostering a shared sense of respect for this land, and we acknowledge and pay our respects to the Peramangk, traditional custodians of the land on which the Cultural Centre stands.



Sunday 17 July 2022  |  2:30PM


Since her breakthrough win at the 2014 ABC Symphony Australia Young Performer of the Year Awards at the age of sixteen, Grace Clifford has gained recognition as 'one of the finest violinists Australia has produced' (Benjamin Northey). She has appeared as a soloist with the major Australian symphony orchestras, as a guest with Selby & Friends, and at the Australian Festival of Chamber Music, among international appearances including touring with the Ravina Steans Music Institute. 

Violist Wenhong Luo's career also flourished from the age of sixteen when she made her debut as a soloist with the China Broadcast Symphony Orchestra. She then moved to London to study at the Royal Academy of Music; completed her doctorate at the New England Conservatory of Music (Boston), before relocating to Melbourne to join the string faculty at the Melbourne Conservatorium of Music in 2020. 

Originally from Sydney, Richard Narroway also joined the string faculty at the Melbourne Conservatorium as lecturer in cello in 2020. He earned degrees from The Juilliard School and Northwestern University, before completing his doctorate at the University of Michigan. Richard was named the Freedman Classical Fellow in 2020 and will soon embark on a tour aboard The Gahn, bringing Australian solo cello repertoire to rural communities.

These three outstanding next-generation artists will come together for the first time at UKARIA in 2022, presenting a program of string trios by Beethoven, Penderecki and Dohnányi. 

Duration | Approximately two hours, including a twenty-minute interval.
Note | Complimentary afternoon tea will be served during the interval.
Dining Options | Hearty soup with hot crusty bread can be pre-booked to enjoy before the concert ($15).


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
String Trio in C minor, Op. 9 No. 3

I. Allegro con spirito
II. Adagio con espressione
III. Scherzo – Allegro molto e vivace
IV. Finale – Presto

Krzysztof Penderecki (1933–2020)
Trio for Violin, Viola and Cello

I. Allegro molto
II. Vivace


Dohnányi (1877–1960)
Serenade in C, Op. 10

I. Marcia: Allegro
II. Romanza: Adagio non troppo
III. Scherzo: Vivace
IV. Tema con variazioni: Andante con moto
V. Rondo (Finale): Allegro vivace

Photo Credit

Grace Clifford: Anthony Browell

Full Price
Add to Booking
*Concession price includes pensioners, health care cardholders and seniors' health care cardholders
UKARIA© 2022 UKARIA | Site Info