What's OnAugust–November 2024James Morrison WeekendUKARIA 24Light MealsBus ServiceGift Vouchers
August–November 2024
Collaboration – Curated by James Morrison
UKARIA 24 – Curated by Olli Mustonen
From Ulrike Klein AO
The A Cappella Academy
Our Steinway D-274
BuildingArtworkGardenVenue HireYour VisitAccessibility
Listening / Radiating
Heritage Garden
DonateLeave a BequestDonorsSponsors
How to Give

Goldner String Quartet Farewell Celebration

Sun 24 Nov 2024
Duration (approx)
75 minutes, without interval

Adult $70 | Concession $65 | Student $35

Post-concert dining package | Celebrate the Goldner String Quartet’s farewell performance by sharing a two-course lunch with the artists following the concert | $120 (concert and lunch package)

Photo: Keith Saunders


For thirty years, the Goldner String Quartet has been at the heart of Australian chamber music. From their fruitful relationships with key composers, to their mentoring of young quartets, to their international advocacy for the quality and imagination of Australian music-makers, the four members of the quartet have played a leading role in shaping Australia’s chamber music culture. The quartet’s thirtieth season is also its final season – truly an end to a musical era. Join the Goldner String Quartet one last time to pay tribute to one of Australia’s great ensembles. In this special event, they play music that has been dear to their collective life: work by their friend and collaborator Matthew Hindson; Beethoven’s hymn of thanks, the Heiliger Dankgesang; and Schubert’s powerful and poignant Death and the Maiden. The Goldners’ performance will be followed by a celebratory lunch with the artists.

Dene Olding

Dimity Hall

Irina Morozova

Julian Smiles


Matthew Hindson (b. 1968)
Nothing is Forever

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
String Quartet No. 15 in A minor, Op. 132 Heiliger Dankgesang (20')

III. Heiliger Dankgesang eines Genesenen an die Gottheit, in der lydischen Tonart: Molto adagio – Neue Kraft Fühlend: Andante – Molto adagio – Andante – Molto adagio: Mit innigster Empfindung

Franz Schubert (1797–1828)
String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, D. 810 Death and the Maiden (40')

I. Allegro
II. Andante con moto
III. Scherzo: Allegro molto
IV. Presto – Prestissimo

Event Tickets

24 Nov 2024
Sold Out
Join Waitlist
24 Nov 2024
Sold Out
Join Waitlist

Bus Transfers

24 Nov 2024
Seats Available
Book Now