UKARIA honours our First Nations by fostering a shared sense of respect for this land, and we acknowledge and pay our respects to the Peramangk, traditional custodians of the land on which the Cultural Centre stands.



Friday 21 October 2022  |  11AM


'The brilliant, elusive, fantastical world of Thomas Adès is illuminated in a most evocative collection of seven movements for string quartet, titled Arcadiana. Vanishing visions of the idyll – a Utopian world of natural splendour, both aquatic and pastoral – are conjured by an intricate and highly original string soundscape. One of Britain's most celebrated composers alive today, Adès composed this work in 1994 and since then, it has gained a place as one of the most inventive and exquisitely crafted string quartets of our time.

Schubert famously remarked of Beethoven's Op. 131 quartet, "after this, what is left for us to write?" Indeed, it is with a sense of awe and curiosity that musicians and audiences alike have pondered this work over the centuries. In seven movements that flow one into the next, from darkness to light, from solitude to ecstasy, the sheer impact of this epic journey may only be realised long after its final notes have subsided. With this work, the ASQ will embark on a multi-year exploration of Beethoven's sublime late quartets, sharing their love and admiration for these timeless masterpieces.'

– Dale Barltrop

Dale Barltrop | Violin
Francesca Hiew | Violin
Christopher Cartlidge | Viola
Michael Dahlenburg | Cello


Thomas Adès (b. 1971)
Arcadiana, Op. 12

I. Venezia notturna
II. Das klinget so herrlich, das klinget so schön
III. Auf dem Wasser zu singen
IV. Et... (tango mortale)
V. L'Embarquement
VI. O Albion
VII. Lethe

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
String Quartet in C sharp minor, Op. 131

I. Adagio ma non troppo e molto espressivo
II. Allegro molto vivace
III. Allegro moderato – Adagio
IV. Andante ma non troppo e molto cantabile – Più mosso – Andante moderato e lusinghiero – Adagio – Allegretto – Adagio, ma non troppo e semplice – Allegretto
V. Presto
VI. Adagio quasi un poco andante
VII. Allegro

Duration | Approximately seventy minutes without interval.
Note | Devonshire tea will be served prior to the concert from 9.45am. 

Full Price
Add to Booking
*Concession price includes pensioners, health care cardholders and seniors' health care cardholders
UKARIA© 2022 UKARIA | Site Info