UKARIA honours our First Nations by fostering a shared sense of respect for this land, and we acknowledge and pay our respects to the Peramangk, traditional custodians of the land on which the Cultural Centre stands.



Saturday 3 December 2022  |  6PM


'This project continues the experience of UKARIA 24 in 2021. Last year, when we knew that we had to isolate for two weeks according to border restrictions, we decided that the best way to enjoy that time together and to react to six very hard months without being able to play was to challenge ourselves with the most difficult program possible; and at the same time, create a program based on everyone's individual dreams.

It resulted in a festival with a great variety of pieces but the one that united the four of us most was one of the last Beethoven quartets, Op. 131 – repertoire that usually scares even the most experienced quartets. It is definitely not for four individual players who meet, rehearse for two weeks and then play! But this became, at least for me, an amazing journey.

So, why not another of those philosophical works, a piece that even Beethoven didn't dare to imagine presented for a public performance? So we decided on his thirteenth string quartet, Op. 130, with the original finale, the Grosse Fugue. Igor Stravinsky described it as "an absolutely contemporary piece of music that will be contemporary forever."

I also wanted to include an honorary Adelaidian who had been an integral part of UKARIA 24 with us last year, Konstantin Shamray. After the amazing discoveries of the Taneyev Quartet and Schnittke Quintet, we thought that the extremely luxurious and late Romantic Korngold Piano Quintet, composed by the Jewish-Viennese master when he was 24 before being forced to emigrate to the US, would be an exciting pair with the very late Beethoven.'

– Umberto Clerici

Andrew Haveron | Violin
Kristian Winther | Violin
Tobias Breider | Viola
Umberto Clerici | Cello
Konstantin Shamray | Cello


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
String Quartet in B flat, Op. 130

I. Adagio, ma non troppo – Allegro
II. Presto
III. Andante con moto, ma non troppo. Poco scherzoso
IV. Alla danza tedesca. Allegro assai
V. Cavatina. Adagio molto espressivo
VI. Große Fuge (Grande Fugue Op. 133): Ouverture. Allegro – Meno mosso e moderato – Allegretto – Fuga. [Allegro] – Meno mosso e moderato – Allegro molto e con brio – Allegro


Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897–1957)
Piano Quintet in E, Op. 15

I. Mäßiges Zeitmaß, mit schwungvoll blühendem Ausdruck
II. Adagio: Mit größter Ruhe, stets äußerst gebunden und ausdrucksvoll
III. Finale: Gemessen, beinahe pathetisch

Duration | Approximately two hours, including a twenty-minute interval.
Dining Options | A two-course dinner will follow after the concert at 8.00pm (separate booking required).

Full Price
Add to Booking
*Concession price includes pensioners, health care cardholders and seniors' health care cardholders
UKARIA© 2022 UKARIA | Site Info