UKARIA honours our First Nations by fostering a shared sense of respect for this land, and we acknowledge and pay our respects to the Peramangk, traditional custodians of the land on which the Cultural Centre stands.



Sunday 22 May 2022  |  2:30PM


Recorder virtuoso Genevieve Lacey is an artist with whom we have maintained an exceptionally close connection. Currently our Artistic Advisor, Genevieve curated two highly significant weekend events in UKARIA's history: our inaugural Ngeringa 24 event in 2016, and A Brief History of Time: Chamber Landscapes in the 2019 Adelaide Festival. Last year, Genevieve was all set to embark on her first national tour with the Australian String Quartet. Sadly COVID disrupted their plans, so we're especially glad that 2022 will provide an opportunity for them to reunite at UKARIA. 

Inspired by the breathtaking cave systems of Western Australia's Margaret River region, Lachlan Skipworth's new Quintet layers the rich, evocative tones of the bass recorder over a backdrop of digital sound to create a mysterious world of subterranean reverberations. Also on the program are the much–loved Re-Inventions – Elena Kats-Chernin's joyful, effervescent takes on Bach's two-part inventions. How beautiful to hear these two unique expressions of Australia, framed by sumptuous quartets by Beethoven and Verdi.

Genevieve Lacey | Recorders
Dale Barltrop | Violin
Francesca Hiew | Violin
Chris Cartlidge | Viola
Michael Dahlenburg | Cello

Duration | Approximately two hours, including a twenty-minute interval.
Note | Complimentary afternoon tea will be served during the interval.
Dining Options | A Ploughman's Lunch can be pre-booked to enjoy before the concert ($25).


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827)
String Quartet in A, Op. 18 No. 5

I. Allegro
II. Menuetto
III. Andante cantabile
IV. Allegro

Lachlan Skipworth (b. 1982)
Quintet for Bass Recorder and Strings


Elena Kats-Chernin (b. 1957)
Selections from Re-Inventions for Recorder and String Quartet

No. 1
No. 2
No. 3

Giuseppe Verdi (1813–1901)
String Quartet in E minor

I. Allegro
II. Andantino
III. Prestissimo
IV. Scherzo Fuga. Allegro assai mosso

Photo Credits

Genevieve Lacey: Sarah Walker
Australian String Quartet: Jacqui Way

Full Price
Add to Booking
*Concession price includes pensioners, health care cardholders and seniors' health care cardholders
UKARIA© 2022 UKARIA | Site Info