Saturday 7 November 2020  |  6:30PM


Performing up to 80 concerts a year around the globe at leading venues such as the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Berlin Konzerthaus and the Théâtre du Châtelet and Musée du Louvre in Paris, Quatuor Debussy are among the most exciting cultural innovators on the concert stage, often dispensing with scores and music stands to enable a more direct, personal communion with the listener.

On a tour shared with the Melbourne Recital Centre, Spring Bay Mill Tasmania and the Utzon Room at the Sydney Opera House, Quatuor Debussy make their debut at UKARIA with an unforgettable rumination on life and death: Haydn’s Seven Last Words and Peter Lichtenthal’s stunningly beautiful 1802 transcription of Mozart’s Requiem – performed entirely from memory by candlelight.

Christophe Collette | Violin
Marc Vieillefon | Violin
Vincent Deprecq | Viola
Cédric Conchon | Cello


Joseph Haydn (1732–1809)

The Seven Last Words of Our Saviour on the Cross

I. Introduzione: Maestoso ed Adagio
II. Sonata I: Largo (Pater, dimitte illis, quia nesciunt, quid faciunt)
III. Sonata II: Grave e Cantabile (Hodie mecum eris in Paradiso)
IV. Sonata III: Grave (Mulier, ecce filius tuus)
V. Sonata IV: Largo (Deus meus, Deus meus, utquid dereliquisti me?)
VI. Introduzione: Largo e cantabile
VII. Sonata V: Adagio (Sitio [I Thirst])
VIII. Sonata VI. Lento (Consummatum est)
IX. Sonata VII. Largo (In manus tuas, Domine, commendo spiritum meum)
X. Il terremoto: Presto e con tutta la forza (The Earthquake)


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
Requiem in D minor, K. 262 (transcribed for string quartet by Peter Lichtenthal)

I. Introitus
a) Requiem aeternam

II. Kyrie
III. Sequentia
a) Dies irae
b) Tuba mirum
c) Rex tremendae
d) Recordare
e) Confutatis
f) Lacrimosa

IV. Offertorium
a) Domine Jesu
b) Hostias

V. Sanctus
VI. Benedictus
VII. Angus Dei
VIII. Communio
a) Lux aeterna

Photo: Bernard Benant

Tickets for this event are SOLD OUT

UKARIA© 2020 UKARIA | Privacy Statement | Site Info