Sunday 15 November 2020  |  2:30PM


In the nineteenth century, the horn was synonymous with Romantic ideals of nature and hunting. Frédéric-Nicolas Duvernoy, who taught at the Paris Conservatoire, revolutionised the literature for the instrument, writing over ten concertos and one of the earliest examples of a trio for violin, horn and piano.

In 1865, as Brahms meandered through a forest one morning, a melody came to him. Perhaps because he learnt the natural horn as a child, the instrument became the conduit for a lament upon the death of his mother.

Over a century later, as György Ligeti wrestled with his own compositional identity, the pianist Eckart Besch suggested he write a companion piece to the Brahms Horn Trio. The result was a turning point in Ligeti’s career, opening up his ‘third way’ – a style he described as neither modern nor postmodern.

Natsuko Yoshimoto | Violin *
Adrian Uren | Horn **
Konstantin Shamray | Piano

* Concertmaster of the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra. Natsuko performs on ‘The Adelaide’ Guadagnini violin (Milan, 1753–57), on loan from UKARIA.
** Principal Horn of the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra.


Frédéric-Nicolas Duvernoy (1765–1838)

Trio No. 1 for Violin, Horn and Piano

I. Adagio
II. Allegretto

György Ligeti (1923–2006)
Trio for Violin, Horn and Piano Hommage à Brahms

I. Andante con tenerezza
II. Vivacissimo molto ritmico
III. Alla marcia
IV. Lamento. Adagio


Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)

Trio for Natural Horn, Violin and Piano in E flat, Op. 40

I. Andante
II. Scherzo: Allegro
III. Adagio mesto
IV. Finale: Allegro con brio

Photo: Claudio Raschella

Tickets for this event are SOLD OUT

UKARIA© 2020 UKARIA | Privacy Statement | Site Info