UKARIA honours our First Nations by fostering a shared sense of respect for this land, and we acknowledge and pay our respects to the Peramangk, traditional custodians of the land on which the Cultural Centre stands.


What's OnLatest ReleaseLight MealsBus ServiceGift Vouchers
Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra
From Ulrike Klein AO
The A Cappella Academy
Mungungga Garlagula
BuildingArtworkGardenVenue HireYour Visit
Listening / Radiating
Heritage Garden
How to Give

Concert Two

Sat 29 Jul 2023
Duration (approx)
1 Hour
No Interval

Adult $79 | Concession $74 | Student $35

Season OverviewPackages Available Tickets

'Johann Sebastian Bach is inextricably tied to the city of Leipzig, where he was Cantor of the St Thomas School from 1723 until his death in 1750, during which time he led performances of his own cantatas each Sunday. Musicians from the Gewandhaus Orchestra continue this tradition to this day, performing Bach cantatas with the St Thomas Choir in the St Thomas Church Leipzig every week. 

Mozart’s Serenade in C minor was composed shortly before the composer travelled to Leipzig to perform in the Gewandhaus in 1789. The defiantly dark and mysterious character of this work for wind octet introduces Richard Strauss’ contemplative study, “Metamorphosen”. Originally for 23 solo strings and performed here in the version for string septet, Strauss, who regularly conducted the Gewandhaus Orchestra in performances of his own operas from 1915 onwards, explores the idea of metamorphosis in this dramatic and moving work, composed in the aftermath of World War II.'

– Tahlia Petrosian, Curator


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)

Ricercar a 6 from Musikalisches Opfer, BWV 1079 (8′)

Karl Heinrich Niebuhr | Violin*
Felix Pascoe | Violin^
Tahlia Petrosian | Viola*
Harry Swainston | Viola^
Nadia Barrow | Cello^
Axel von Huene | Cello*

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)

Serenade in C minor, K. 388 (25′)

I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Menuet & Trio
IV. Allegro

Alexandra King | Oboe^
Alex Allan | Oboe^
Edgar Hesske | Clarinet*
Clare Fox | Clarinet^
Ryan Humphrey | Horn^
Simen Fegran | Horn*
Axel Benoit | Bassoon*
Kina Lin-Wilmoth | Bassooon^

Richard Strauss (1864–1949)

Metamorphosen (arr. for string septet by Rudolf Leopold) (26′)

Yun-Jin Cho | Violin*
Donica Tran | Violin^
Tahlia Petrosian | Viola*
Daniel You | Viola^
Axel von Huene | Cello*
Nadia Barrow | Cello^
Burak Marlali | Double Bass*

* Musician from the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra
^ Musician from the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM)

Event Tickets

29 Jul 2023
Seats Available
Book Now