Sunday 18 October 2020  |  2:30PM

This concert will be postponed to 2021 due to the current COVID-19 crisis.

Tourism Minister Simon Birmingham recently said that our international borders are likely to remain closed until the end of the year, preventing our ability to present any international artists in 2020.

For the first time since opening in 2015, we will have an entire concert season without our flagship weekend event: UKARIA 24 will not take place on Friday 16–Sunday 18 October this year. Three international artists were set to be joining us for this special event – Lawrence Power (curator/viola/violin), Torleif Thedéen (cello) and Simon Crawford-Phillips (piano) – along with students from the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM).

The good news is that we are currently working with all the musicians to reschedule the event to 2021 unchanged: where possible, the line up and program will remain the same. The weekend we have currently flagged as a possibility is Friday 24–Sunday 26 September 2021.

To our patrons who have already booked tickets to any of the concerts, or a Weekend Pass, we encourage you to keep your tickets, as they will automatically be transferred over to the new date as soon as it is confirmed. As always, you'll also have the option to log in to your account at any time and request a full refund, a gift voucher credit (valid until 31 December 2022), or gift your tickets back to UKARIA as a tax-deductible donation. If you have any questions, or experience any difficulties logging into your account, please don't hesitate to contact us on (08) 8227 1277.



'There are moments when I feel myself driven by a kind of feverish instinct, as if I had the presentiment of being unable to attain my goal, or of attaining it too late.'

Ernest Chausson's death in 1899 stands as a poignant reminder of the amorality of fate: at the age of forty-four, just as his career was beginning to flourish, he rode his bicycle down a hill, crashed into a brick wall, and died instantly. The ink was still wet on the manuscript of his unfinished String Quartet in C minor, Op. 35.

Chausson was an uncompromising perfectionist. Wracked with self-doubt and depression, he left behind an oeuvre of only thirty-nine compositions. In the exhilarating finale of UKARIA 24, Lawrence Power leads a star-studded sextet in Chausson's Concerto for Violin, Piano and String Quartet in D major, Op. 21 – one of the largest and most remarkable works of fin-di-siècle France.


George Benjamin (b. 1960)
Viola, Viola (1997)

Christopher Moore | Viola
Lawrence Power | Viola

Frank Bridge (1879–1941)
Sonata for Cello and Piano in D major, H. 125 (1913–17)

I. Allegro ben moderato
II. Adagio ma non troppo – Molto allegro agitato

Torleif Thedéen | Cello
Simon Crawford-Phillips | Piano


Richard Wagner (1813–1883) / Franz Liszt (1811–1886)
'Isoldens Liebestod' from Tristan und Isolde, WWV 90
Transcribed for Piano by Franz Liszt

Simon Crawford-Phillips | Piano

Ernest Chausson (1855–1899)
Concerto for Violin, Piano and String Quartet in D major, Op. 21 (1889–91)

I. Décidé
II. Sicilienne
III. Grave
IV. Très animé

Lawrence Power | Violin
Sophie Rowell | Violin
Christopher Moore | Viola
Torleif Thedéen | Cello
Simon Crawford-Phillips | Piano

This concert will run for approximately one hour and forty minutes, including a twenty-minute interval.

UKARIA© 2020 UKARIA | Privacy Statement | Site Info