UKARIA honours our First Nations by fostering a shared sense of respect for this land, and we acknowledge and pay our respects to the Peramangk, traditional custodians of the land on which the Cultural Centre stands.



Sunday 30 October 2022  |  2:30PM


'Written for me in 2020, Quartet for One by Garth Knox is a creative gem. It tells the story of a violist performing with his quartet colleagues only to realise that it is sadly only him on stage!

The neglected Norwegian composer Bjarne Brustad is a fascinating figure in twentieth-century music. His European travels in the 1920s led to him developing a unique voice as a composer, which these duets for violin and viola show perfectly.

We finish this weekend of concerts with Fauré's glorious second Piano Quartet. Comparatively little is known about its history: it was probably composed some time during the years 1885–86, just after Fauré had been awarded the Prix Chartier by the Academy of Fine Arts for his chamber music. The Second Quartet is undoubtedly one of the pinnacles of his chamber music output and it is difficult to understand why this superbly crafted and melodically generous work has never managed to achieve the popularity of the first. The slow movement was apparently inspired by a memory of the evening bells of the village of Cadirac, which Fauré frequently heard as a child. Westhoff's visionary 'Imitatione delle campane' (Imitation of Bells) recreates the sounds of church bells on a solo string instrument – a wonderful musical magic trick.'

– Lawrence Power


Garth Knox (b. 1956)
Quartet for One

Lawrence Power | Viola

Bjarne Brustad (1895–1978)
Capricci for Violin and Viola

Vilde Frang | Violin
Lawrence Power | Viola

Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975)
Sonata for Cello and Piano in D minor, Op. 40

I. Allegro non troppo
II. Allegro
III. Largo
IV. Allegro

Torleif Thedéen | Cello
Alessio Bax | Piano


Johann Paul von Westhoff (1656–1705)
Sonata No. 3 in D minor

III. Imitatione delle campane

Lawrence Power | Viola

Gabriel Fauré (1845–1924)
Piano Quartet No. 2 in G minor, Op. 45

I. Allegro molto moderato
II. Allegro molto
III. Adagio non troppo
IV. Finale – Allegro molto

Vilde Frang | Violin
Lawrence Power | Viola
Torleif Thedéen | Cello
Alessio Bax | Piano

Duration | Approximately two hours, including a twenty-minute interval.
Note | Complimentary afternoon tea will be served during the interval. This concert is included in the Full Package and Sunday Package options. If you have booked one of these packages, a separate booking is not required.

Photo Credits:

Lawrence Power: Jack Liebeck
Vilde Frang: Marco Borggreve
Torleif Thedéen: Nikolaj Lund
Alessio Bax: Marco Borggreve

Full Price
Add to Booking
*Concession price includes pensioners, health care cardholders and seniors' health care cardholders
UKARIA© 2022 UKARIA | Site Info