UKARIA honours our First Nations by fostering a shared sense of respect for this land, and we acknowledge and pay our respects to the Peramangk, traditional custodians of the land on which the Cultural Centre stands.



Saturday 29 October 2022  |  4PM


'In 1853 Robert Schumann published his famous article 'Neue Bahnen' (New Paths) in which he proclaimed the twenty-year-old Brahms to the world. In this two-part concert we will explore this idea of new paths and the extraordinary world of Brahms.

As one of our greatest ever musical historians, his obsessions with old music were legendary as was his close relationship with Robert and particularly Clara Schumann, who became an important muse for him: he secretly quoted her name in works such as the G minor Piano Quartet that we hear this evening.'

– Lawrence Power


François Couperin (1668–1733)
Les Barricades Mystérieuses

Alessio Bax | Piano

Robert Schumann (1810–1856)
Six Canonic Études, Op. 56

I. Pas trop vite
II. Avec beaucoup d'expression
III. Andantino – Un peu plus animé
IV. Espressivo – Un peu plus mouvementé
IV. Pas trop vite
V. Adagio

Vilde Frang | Violin
Torleif Thedéen | Cello
Alessio Bax | Piano

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)
Clarinet Trio in A minor, Op. 114 (arr. for Viola, Cello and Piano)

I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Andantino grazioso
IV. Allegro

Lawrence Power | Viola
Torleif Thedéen | Cello
Alessio Bax | Piano

Duration | Approximately one hour without interval.
Note | This concert is included in the Full Package and Saturday Package options. If you have booked one of these packages, a separate booking is not required. Single tickets are also available for those who cannot attend the full day or weekend.
Dining Options | A light supper (Intermezzo) will follow. This is included in the Full Package and Saturday Package options. A separate booking is required for single ticket holders.

Full Price
Add to Booking
*Concession price includes pensioners, health care cardholders and seniors' health care cardholders
UKARIA© 2022 UKARIA | Site Info