UKARIA honours our First Nations by fostering a shared sense of respect for this land, and we acknowledge and pay our respects to the Peramangk, traditional custodians of the land on which the Cultural Centre stands.



Sunday 29 May 2022  |  2:30PM


Formed in 2017 by Co-Artistic Directors Paul and Trish Dean, Ensemble Q has established itself as one of Australia's premier ensembles. Led by Natsuko Yoshimoto, the Brisbane-based collective provides mentorship for outstanding young performers from the Queensland Conservatorium.

Ensemble Q returns to UKARIA in 2022 for a program spanning four hundred years. The lines between contemporary atonal music and what we might call 'early music' are blurred by the extraordinary harmonies present in the music of the seventeenth century, and transcended by the complex counterpoint inherent in the music of Mozart and Bruckner. This intriguing conversation between the centuries is heightened by the contrast between strings and winds, amalgamated by a performance that utilises the segue concept to create a seamless trajectory through time, from William Byrd and Henry Purcell to Benjamin Britten, Alfred Schnittke and György Kurtág. 

Natsuko Yoshimoto | Violin
Anne Horton | Violin
Imants Larsens | Viola
Trish Dean
| Cello
Phoebe Russell | Double Bass
Huw Jones | Oboe
Paul Dean | Clarinet
David Mitchell | Bassoon
Peter Luff | French Horn

With Featured Young Artists

Shana Hosino | Oboe
Drew Gilchrist
| Clarinet
Amelia Cody-Byfield 
| Bassoon
Alexander Hogan
| French Horn

Duration | Approximately seventy minutes without interval. 
Note | Complimentary afternoon tea will be served after the performance. 
Dining Options | A Ploughman's Lunch can be pre-booked to enjoy before the concert ($25).


Anton Bruckner (1824–1896)
Os justi, WAB 30 (arr. Paul Dean)

Henry Purcell (1659–1695)
Fantasias for String Quartet

Z737 in F minor
Z738 in C minor
Z740 in A minor

Benjamin Britten (1913–1976)
Six Metamorphoses after Ovid
, Op. 49

I. Pan, "who played upon the reed pipe which was Syrinx, his beloved."

Alfred Schnittke (1934–1998)
Hymnus II for Cello and Double Bass

William Byrd (1543–1623)
Ave Verum Corpus (arr. Paul Dean)

Anton Bruckner (1824–1896)
String Quintet in F, WAB 112

III. Adagio (arr. Trish Dean)

Kaija Saariaho (b. 1952)
Dreaming Chaconne for Solo Cello

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756–1791)
Serenade in C, K. 388

I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Menuetto in Canone
IV. Allegro

György Kurtág (b. 1926)
String Quartet, Op. 28 Officium Breve in memoriam Andreae Szervánszky

XV. Arioso interrotto (di Endre Szervánszky). Larghetto

Anton Bruckner (1824–1896)
Os justi, WAB 30 (arr. Paul Dean)

Photo Credit

Ensemble Q: Morgan Roberts

Full Price
Add to Booking
*Concession price includes pensioners, health care cardholders and seniors' health care cardholders
UKARIA© 2022 UKARIA | Site Info