Sunday 21 November 2021  |  2:30PM

* This concert has been postponed from its original date of Sunday 22 August due to the COVID-19 crisis. If you've booked tickets, they will remain valid for Sunday 21 November, and no further action is required. If you would prefer to receive a full refund or a gift voucher credit (valid for three years), please phone (08) 8227 1277 or email dylan@ukaria.com.au. We deeply appreciate your patience and understanding as we continue to navigate these challenging times.


'In essence then, if classic is what remains as a model and universal is what belongs to everyone for all time, Piazzolla's tango is universal and classical music even if he called it "music of cafés", a creation immortal and luminous nonetheless, like a star that has become substance in the sounds of the soul.'

– Horacio Ferrer (1933–2014)

In 1960 Astor Piazzolla put together the 'First Quintet' – an ensemble comprised of a violin, an electric guitar, a double bass and a piano, with Piazzolla himself performing on bandoneón. The formation remains the most authentic expression of the Nuevo Tango style.

Scottish accordion virtuoso James Crabb is Australia's leading Piazzolla authority, and has long dreamed of establishing his own quintet. With Sydney Symphony Orchestra Concertmaster Andrew Haveron on violin, 2019 Freedman Classical Fellow Rohan Dasika on bass, young jazz superstar Joshua Meader on guitar, and award-winning pianist Stefan Cassomenos at the keyboard, this is about as good as it gets.

Together they play music by Tomás Gubitsch, Gustavo Beytelmann, Antonio Agri and José Carli in a program framed by the works of Astor Piazzolla, culminating in the great Concierto para Quinteto. Just try to resist the urge to dance.


Astor Piazzolla (1921–1992)
La Camorra II
Milonga del Angel

Tomàs Gubitsche (b. 1957)

Antonio Agri (1932–1998) / José Carli (1931–2020)
Desde Adentro (From Within)

Astor Piazzolla (1921–1992)


Gustavo Beytelmann (b. 1945)

Astor Piazzolla (1921–1992)
Romance del Diablo

Tomàs Gubitsche (b. 1957)
De Los Hermanos

Astor Piazzolla (1921–1992)
Concierto para Quinteto

Duration | Approximately one hour and forty minutes, including a twenty-minute interval.
Note | Complimentary afternoon tea will be served during the interval.


The wellbeing of our audience and artists is our first priority. We've implemented a number of measures to make your experience at UKARIA as safe as possible.


UKARIA holds an SA Health approved COVID-Safe Plan enabling us to host events at 75% capacity (180 people), provided all patrons wear masks.

Checking In

Upon arrival, we require all patrons to register their details for contact tracing. Checking in is quick and easy:

  • Download or log in to the free mySA Gov app
  • Scan the QR code (located in the concert hall foyer) with your phone's camera
  • Enter your name and phone number
  • Follow the prompts
  • Done – you're checked in!

If you do not have a smartphone, or experience any issues checking in on your device, don't panic: we will have a sign-up sheet available in the foyer where you can manually write down your details. Please see our front-of-house team in the foyer, who will be able to assist you.


All seats are general admission. If you require mobility-impaired access, please let us know by emailing info@ukaria.com or phoning (08) 8227 1277.

Hand Sanitiser

Hand sanitiser will be provided in the foyer and temporary bar (see below for more information).

Entering the Auditorium

The doors of the auditorium will open approximately thirty minutes prior to the start time of the event. Please see our front-of-house team in the foyer, who will check your ticket details and direct you to an usher who will help you find your seats.

Photo Credit:

James Crabb: Christoffer Askman

Tickets for this event are SOLD OUT

Join Waitlist
UKARIA© 2021 UKARIA | Privacy Statement | Site Info