Sunday 20 September 2020  |  3PM



South Australia's COVID-19 regulations currently stipulate that venues are unable to exceed one person per two square metres. We have currently reached our maximum capacity, but have opened up a waiting list should these restrictions be lifted prior to the event. Please email [email protected] to be added to the waiting list.

Join the Australian String Quartet for an inspiring hour-long program at UKARIA. This concert showcases two major works presented back-to-back without interval. Due to COVID-19 venue restrictions, only fifty tickets will be available.

The ASQ perform Joe Chindamo's String Quartet No. 1, in addition to the world premiere of a new work. The concert begins with Shostakovich's String Quartet No. 3 in F major, Op. 83 – a powerful and symphonic work for quartet where the five movements trace the arc of conflict, resolving with 'The eternal question: Why? And for what?"


Dmitri Shostakovich (1906–1975)
String Quartet No. 3 in F major, Op. 73

I. Allegretto (Blithe ignorance of the future cataclysm)
II. Moderato con moto (Rumblings of unrest and anticipation)
III. Forces of war unleashed (Allegro non troppo)
IV. Adagio (attacca) (In memory of the dead)
V. Moderato (The eternal question: why? and for what?)

Joe Chindamo (b. 1961)
String Quartet No. 1 Tempesta

I. Tempesta
II. Lament / Seduction
III. Frenzy
IV. Flight

New Work (World Premiere)

Dale Barltrop | Violin
Francesca Hiew | Violin
Stephen King | Viola
Sharon Grigoryan | Cello

This concert will run for approximately one hour without interval.


The wellbeing of our audience and artists is our first priority. We've implemented a number of measures to make your experience at UKARIA as safe as possible.


South Australia's COVID-19 regulations currently stipulate that venues are unable to exceed a maximum of one person per two square metres. Once we've reached our maximum audience capacity, a wait list will be set up. Extra tickets may be released should restrictions ease before the event. The majority of tickets for all concerts in this series will be seated in the upper gallery (behind the glass balustrade). A limited number of patrons will be seated in the lower gallery. These seats will be reserved for patrons requiring disabled access. Floor plans will be available in the foyer, upper and lower galleries.

Seating Preferences

All seating will be allocated during the week prior to each concert. Ticket holders will be contacted at least one week prior with the opportunity to request their seating preferences (including disabled access, if required).

Hand Sanitiser

Hand sanitiser will be provided in the foyer and alfresco bar.

Entering the Auditorium

The doors of the auditorium will open fifteen minutes prior (2.45pm) to the start time of each event (3.00pm). Please see our front-of-house team in the foyer, who will check your ticket details and direct you to an usher who will help you find your allocated seats. As the seating has all been reserved prior to the concert, there will be no need to queue in the foyer to reserve your seat.

Tea and Coffee

In order to avoid congestion in the alfresco, a tea and coffee station will not be provided. Patrons can purchase barista coffee, tea, or a glass of wine to enjoy before the event from the alfresco bar. We encourage you to wander through the garden to help us maintain physical distancing. The bar will be open ninety minutes prior to each event (from 1.30pm).


The ASQ has engaged multi-award winning cinematographer Maxx Corkindale and sound engineer Jakub Gaudasinski (ABC Classic) to stream each event in a series of live/delayed 'webisodes'.

Viewers can subscribe to the ASQ Live + On Demand platform for just $40. Subscription includes access to the ASQ Live at UKARIA webseries, with the ability to re-watch past streams until the end of the year. Existing ASQ+ subscribers will get access to the platform free of charge.

Composing for string quartet represents a defining moment for any serious composer. The realm is so appealing and challenging because it is at once intimate and expansive. It is also an idiom where there is nowhere to hide for the composer – it is exactly here where his/her craft either appears in full glory or reveals its shortcomings.

First commissioned and premiered by Sydney based quartet ACACIA in June 2013, Tempesta was my first foray into composing for the string quartet. In many ways though, it was an undertaking I had been preparing for many years. As a teenager, Ravel’s String Quartet in F major had a profound effect on me, particularly its sensuality, and the work undoubtedly informed much of my music-making since, whether subliminally or by design. Bartók’s string quartets, replete with wild rhythms, angular melodic contours and dissonant harmonies, also provided immense inspiration.

Of course, there were other masters whose work I devoured but ultimately they all served to stir a desire within me to want to compose such a work myself one day. And I kept my ears open until that day arrived.

To be sure, the only way forward as a creative artist is to respectfully bury one’s heroes (at least during the creative process) and as such, I consciously drew from my own cognitive resources and wrote from an innate sense of exploration, adventure and a profound desire to translate my world outlook, life experiences and their accompanying emotions into musical language.

Although new for me in a sense, this (ad)venture proved to be amongst the most rewarding musical experiences of my life, and after spending many years performing and composing in myriad genres, particularly jazz, I felt as though I had finally found my true voice as a composer. It really did feel like the most natural thing in the world – I had finally found my soul – home.

Consequently, Tempesta is a musical autobiography of sorts because it takes stock of all that came before and points assuredly to what is in store.

Regarding the actual music, as author Kate Grenville once point out, ‘writing your own memoir is like drinking your own bath water’, so to this end, I will gracefully step aside and allow the exquisite Australian String Quartet to tell the rest of the story.

© Joe Chindamo 2016

Tickets for this event are SOLD OUT

Join Waitlist
UKARIA© 2021 UKARIA | Privacy Statement | Site Info