Saturday 17 October 2020  |  6PM

This concert will be postponed to 2021 due to the current COVID-19 crisis.

Tourism Minister Simon Birmingham recently said that our international borders are likely to remain closed until the end of the year, preventing our ability to present any international artists in 2020.

For the first time since opening in 2015, we will have an entire concert season without our flagship weekend event: UKARIA 24 will not take place on Friday 16–Sunday 18 October this year. Three international artists were set to be joining us for this special event – Lawrence Power (curator/viola/violin), Torleif Thedéen (cello) and Simon Crawford-Phillips (piano) – along with students from the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM).

The good news is that we are currently working with all the musicians to reschedule the event to 2021 unchanged: where possible, the line up and program will remain the same. The weekend we have currently flagged as a possibility is Friday 24–Sunday 26 September 2021.

To our patrons who have already booked tickets to any of the concerts, or a Weekend Pass, we encourage you to keep your tickets, as they will automatically be transferred over to the new date as soon as it is confirmed. As always, you'll also have the option to log in to your account at any time and request a full refund, a gift voucher credit (valid until 31 December 2022), or gift your tickets back to UKARIA as a tax-deductible donation. If you have any questions, or experience any difficulties logging into your account, please don't hesitate to contact us on (08) 8227 1277.



As dusk descends over the Mount Barker Summit, Torleif Thedéen (cello) transports us to an Eastern European synagogue with the 'Prayer' from Ernest Bloch's From Jewish Life – a melody of intense beauty and vulnerability – before Lawrence Power offers the perfect companion piece with Ravel's haunting setting of the Jewish Kaddish.

As the world tore itself apart in 1944, Shostakovich incorporated a Jewish melody into the finale of his Piano Trio in E minor, Op. 67 in memory of the prisoners who were forced to dance to their deaths in Nazi concentration camps – a devastating testament to one of the darkest chapters in human history.

After the interval, excerpts from Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet preface a neglected monument of Russian chamber music: Sergei Taneyev's colossal Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 30 – an epic tour de force showcasing five musicians at the peak of their powers.


Ernest Bloch (1880–1959)
From Jewish Life, B. 54 (1924)

I. Prayer

Torleif Thedéen | Cello
Simon Crawford-Phillips | Piano

Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)
Deux Mélodies hébraïques (1914)

I. Kaddish

Lawrence Power | Viola
Simon Crawford-Phillips | Cello

Dmitry Shostakovich (1906–1975)
Piano Trio No. 2 in E minor, Op. 67 (1944)

I. Andante
II. Allegro con brio
III. Largo
IV. Allegretto

Lawrence Power | Violin
Torleif Thedéen | Cello
Simon Crawford-Phillips | Piano


Sergei Prokofiev (1891–1953)
Excerpts from Romeo and Juliet, Op. 64 (1938)
Arranged for Two Violas and Piano by Vadim Vasilyevich Borisovsky

Act II, Scene I: Dance with Mandolins
Act III, Scene 3: Morning Serenade

Lawrence Power | Viola
Christopher Moore | Viola
Simon Crawford-Phillips | Piano

Sergei Taneyev (1856–1915)
Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 30 (1911)

I. Introduzione: Adagio mesto – Allegro patetico
II. Scherzo: Presto – Moderato teneramente – Tempo I – Prestissimo
III. Largo
IV. Finale: Allegro vivace – Moderato maestoso

Lawrence Power | Violin
Sophie Rowell | Violin
Christopher Moore | Viola
Torleif Thedéen | Cello
Simon Crawford-Phillips | Piano

This concert will run for approximately one hour and thirty minutes, including a twenty-minute interval. Followed by Dinner at 7.30pm (separate booking required).

UKARIA© 2020 UKARIA | Privacy Statement | Site Info