Saturday 17 October 2020  |  11:30AM

'It is as though the instruments are in love with each other,' remarked the Romanian musicologist Eusebius Mandyczewski upon hearing the Brahms Clarinet Trio in A minor, Op. 114. The range and timbral qualities of the clarinet part make it readily adaptable to the viola – something Schumann had already explored forty years earlier in his Three Fantasy Pieces, Op. 73. Hear these iconic works 'reimagined' by three of the world's greatest chamber musicians: Lawrence Power (viola), Torleif Thedéen (cello) and Simon Crawford-Phillips (piano).


Garth Knox (b. 1956)
Marin Marais Variations on Folies d'Espagne for Four Violas (2007/10)

Lawrence Power | Viola
Christopher Moore | Viola
Musicians from the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM)

Robert Schumann (1810–1856)
Drei Fantasiestücke, Op. 73 (1849)

I. Zart und mit Ausdruck

Lawrence Power | Viola
Simon Crawford-Phillips | Piano

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840–1893)
Aveu passionné in E minor

Torleif Thedéen | Cello
Simon Crawford-Phillips | Piano

Johannes Brahms (1833–1897)
Trio in A minor, Op. 114

I. Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Andantino grazioso – Trio
IV. Allegro

Lawrence Power | Viola
Torleif Thedéen | Cello
Simon Crawford-Phillips | Piano

This concert will run for approximately fifty minutes without interval. Followed by Picnic Plate Lunch at 12.30pm (separate booking required).

Full Price
Add to Booking
*Concession price includes pensioners, health care cardholders and seniors' health care
UKARIA© 2020 UKARIA | Privacy Statement | Site Info