UKARIA honours our First Nations by fostering a shared sense of respect for this land, and we acknowledge and pay our respects to the Peramangk, traditional custodians of the land on which the Cultural Centre stands.


What's OnLatest ReleaseLight MealsBus ServiceGift Vouchers
Autumn–Winter 2023
Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra
From Ulrike Klein AO
The A Cappella Academy
Mungungga Garlagula
BuildingArtworkGardenVenue HireYour Visit
Listening / Radiating
Heritage Garden
How to Give
Season Launch Tickets on sale now - Autumn–Winter 2023

Paul Lewis

Schubert: The Complete Sonatas

Saturday 4–Sunday 5 February

‘Arguably the finest Schubert interpreter of his generation’


‘Schubert’s completed piano sonatas take us on a unique and heart-wrenching journey through the last 12 years of his life. From the charming lyricism of the early sonatas to the transcendent creativity of the late masterpieces, via harrowing moments of despair as his health started to decline.

The sonatas express with directness and sincerity some of the most fundamental elements of human experience – longing, consolation, despair, joy, loss, nostalgia, and hope. In our time, his music is as essential and poignant as ever.’

– Paul Lewis

We are honoured to be part of this monumental project, in which Paul performs all of Schubert’s completed sonatas in four concerts across two years in revered venues from Wigmore Hall to the Gilmore Piano Festival, and from the Oslo Opera House to the Sala São Paulo in Brazil. This weekend event not only launches our 2023 concert series, but also our new Steinway Model D piano. In February 2024 Paul will return to complete the cycle with parts three and four of his landmark series.

The Complete Experience

Part One – Saturday 4 February 2.30PM

‘No one feels another’s grief, no one understands another’s joy. People imagine that they can reach one another. In reality they only pass each other by.’

– Franz Schubert (1797–1828)

Piano Sonata No. 7 in E flat, D. 568
Piano Sonata No. 14 in A minor, D. 784
Piano Sonata No. 17 in D, D. 850

Part Two – Sunday 5 February 2.30PM

‘In his longer forms, Schubert is a wanderer. He likes to move at the edge of the precipice, and does so with the assurance of a sleepwalker. To wander is the Romantic condition; one yields to it enraptured, or is driven and plagued by terror of finding no escape. More often than not, happiness is but the surface of despair.’

Alfred Brendel (b. 1931)

Piano Sonata No. 15 in C, D. 840
Piano Sonata No. 13 in A, D. 664
Piano Sonata No. 16 in A minor, D. 845

Complimentary afternoon tea served during interval of both concerts

Individual Concerts

Paul Lewis: Kaupo Kikkas